The Deadly Scrolls (The Jerusalem Mysteries #1) (Paperback)

The Deadly Scrolls (The Jerusalem Mysteries #1) By Ellen Frankel Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Jerusalem Mysteries series.


Set in modern Jerusalem and among the desert ruins of Qumran, this desperate hunt for an ancient treasure scroll pits a female Israeli intelligence agent against a religious fanatic hell-bent on bringing about the End of Days.

An American professor’s murder reveals his discovery of a lost Dead Sea Scroll, whose text encodes the secret hiding places of the lost Second Temple Treasures. Israeli intelligence agent Maya Rimon races against time to stop a religious extremist from launching a deadly terrorist attack at the next Blood Moon, triggering the Apocalypse in the holy city of Jerusalem.

The story centers around a genuine historical artifact, the so-called Copper Scroll, whose many secrets still remain undeciphered by contemporary scholars and treasure hunters. Despite decades of searching, not a single one of these invaluable treasures has ever been found.

Laced with clever spycraft, encrypted electronic files, mysterious ancient puzzles, plastique explosives, car chases, and Sherlockian ratiocination, The Deadly Scrolls explores the timely theme of fanaticism: among Christian millennialists, Jewish messianists, Islamic terrorists, Israeli politicians, Orthodox Jews, conspiracy theorists, devout Zionists—and spies. In other words, it’s a Jewish Da Vinci Code!

About the Author

Dr. Ellen Frankel served for eighteen years as Editor in Chief and CEO of The Jewish Publication Society. She received her BA from the University of Michigan and her PhD in Comparative Literature from Princeton University.

She is the author of fourteen books, among them The Classic Tales; The Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols; and The Five Books of Miriam. Her JPS Illustrated Children’s Bible won a National Jewish Book Award. In 2023, she won the Jewish Book Council’s Mentorship Award.

She has written librettos for chamber pieces with various composers, including two operas: Slaying the Dragon with Michael Ching, and The Triangle Fire with Leonard Lehrman.

Frankel is currently working on The Jerusalem Mystery Series featuring Israeli intelligence agent Maya Rimon. The Deadly Scrolls and The Hyena Murders were published in 2022.

Frankel lives in Sarasota and Maine with her husband, Herb Levine.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781637589342
ISBN-10: 1637589344
Publisher: Wicked Son
Publication Date: June 20th, 2023
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: The Jerusalem Mysteries